Sunday, June 19, 2011

ITALY Day 1-2

i wrote this with 1 hour of sleep, if there's grammar errors, so what.


Today was a very exciting day. I boarded my plane to Paris France at 4 pm and left at 5 pm. I was very calm on the way there. Everything was lovely, I kissed my parents good bye and went through security gates. Found my terminal and just relaxed on my laptop, trying to get the internet to work. Everyone on the way to board the plane was super friendly and so excited as to why I was going. I told them it was my boyfriend’s, uncle’s, kids I was watching for the summe. Everyone would said how fun it was and then brought up the question. Is your boyfriend coming? NO! Thank you for reminding me. But it’s ok I can have some “me” time. He says he needs it sometimes too.
The ride there was approximately 9 hours and 19 minutes. Felt longer, definitely. But I was conveniently seated in the aisle seat right next to the bathrooms. I only had to use once which I surprised myself. I observed two different ladies went more than 4 all through the night. Very odd. I go to the bathroom every hour or couple hours usually after drinking and they couldn’t hold there bladders from a little cup of delight they ordered from the stuerist. Also I could not get to sleep it was torture. I can’t stand plane rides when you’re supposed to be sleeping. I got a total of 1 hour of rest today and I’m still going.
After we made it to Paris France , (I didn’t see the Eiffel Tower ) which I should have been able to see since we were supposedly so close. Hopefully I will see it on my way back. When I get there I forget all the French I was practicing in my head. When the happy French man who was looking at my passport greeting me Ca Va? I couldn’t remember how to reply. It was embarrassing, I just said “thank you “ in English and skipped off. I LOVE thee French people. Except for one sickening 20’s French man. I saw him while I was walking to the gate and he looked normal sitting in a chair with his legs and feet hogging another chair sort of distant from everyone else. Since there was open seats I plopped down my bag tried to look through my purse when the stench paralyzed my senses. I couldn’t believe the smell of this man. I was 10 feet away from him and it made me sick breathing the same air he was toxicating just feet away from me. Worst of all I l look over at him and make eye contact. (didn’t expect this French man who looked like an Italian Vogue model to interact with inferior surroundings. ) He had the sickest face, like he was in the middle or having intercourse and getting off from starring at a clueless blonde American. I look away so fast and try to look through my bag, but just thinking about it is making me unconfident in my search for my passport. I look again to see if it was my imagination, it wasn’t HE WAS STILL raping me with him eyes. Not even throwing together a lie. I felt disgusted the whole way to my terminal D75 ,but glad to be alive.
On my way, I see attractive French boy after attractive cute French boy after another. It was amazing. If I was single I would give the flirt face, haha just kidding. I have a better technique, but it’s a secret. Not really, but these guys are hot. I love Chandler more though. But the way these guys dress is amazing and I could tell they were heterosexual, just cute straight men. That was nice.
The plane takes forever to lift off so I start to read Firefly lane, a book i borrowed from Jessica Wiggles. I’m already in love with it and I’m not even ¼ of the way into it. I was falling asleep ,from lack of sleep so I asked for some le cafĂ© (coffee) I said merci and stirred up the chunks. ( airplane coffee is different …) It tasted the same and hit the spot, I dipped my lemon bisquit cookie in the cup and surprisingly it was satisfying my taste buds . But then my stomach tied in a knot and I coulnd’t finish the other cookie or the coffee. I abandoned that wagon and tried to get some sleep, didn’t happen. The flight was quick and I was finally free and could move my legs, I got my big luggage and met Chad outside the security gate. Then I met Gillian and Tommy! They are the cutest little buttons. They were both shy, but Tommy came out of his shell first. They are so funny. I love when they sing their own cute songs, even ones we love in the U.S. The Lion Sleeps Tonight made me laugh the most, it was the most adorable thing to hear them sing that song. They are both bilingual Tommy more than Gillian. Chandler’s mom bought them a lot of cool things that they love, there coloring books are a #1 they used them at dinner all night. We got to drive bikes to the pizzeria we ate at. It was so delish and fancy. I NEED to become Italian. Just talking about the culture drives me nuts, I love how they do things. They’re family is always a tight unit and once the grandparents retire they help with their children’s children duties while they’re at work . And people don’t marry until after 25 at the earliest unless having a baby is involved then the earliest is in the teens . I adore the atmosphere the weather is lovely and it doesn’t get dark until 10 pm.
Tomorrow will be fun. Going to hang out with some Italian teenagers, have to brush up on my Italian. Marry me in Italy.

Day 2
I am sleepy sleepy. Everyone says ciao instead of salve. I am now typing this entry on chads laptop. It is very hard to do so. I cant understand his punctuation keys. So it is very difficult. And the internet is busted. I swear I didn’t do anything. Just went on facebook and abc.com. But anyways I wake up at 7 am Italian time and go to the bathroom then go back to bed until 10 am. Then Sylvia wakes me up so we can start the day and I eat cherries breakfast with a mini cup of coffee. Then chad takes me out on bike to look at the town. It is amazing, he first takes me out for a cappacuino and il cioccolato pastry. While Im enjoying the atmosphere I finish my cup and notice a very stylish woman at the table next to me. She is the spinning image of who I want to be in 20 years. Wearing a leather laced bracelet , many gold bangles, and to top it off a classy light gold chanel bracelet on her wrist. For her cothing attire it was very casual but elegant. Her shirt was a purple blouse with a dark purple loosely worn scarf. I tried to get a good picture of her but she was too quick.
Anyways, back to my day. So we are riding downtown and we stop and walk through the market that happens every Tuesday Thursday and Saturday. I wanted just about everything I saw, and it wasn’t as expensive as the fancy shops around. A Chanel bracelet I think I will splurge on first. Then we meet up with Sylvia (chads wife) at the salon. Her hair is in curlers with a young lady preciously painting her nails. Sylvia is a very pretty woman, and when she talks it makes her even more beautiful. But chad wants to buy some groceries and I cant wait to check out the market so we say ciao to Sylvia and all the other ladies we meet and head off. I feel like I am sort of clumsy on a bike, I like to be on the two feet alone. I hope I don’t get hit by a car or worse run someone over. But I think my skills are getting better.
We go to a little shop market called mananas (or something along those lines) and chad orders groceries while I take pictures. The nice lady said I could take as many pictures as I wanted. Then we left and drove home and waited for Sylvia and had lunch. Then Sylvia needed to go to the shoe store downtown and asked if I wanted to come. Of course I said yes! It was cool , but I think the jet lag is eating up my energy. And for that reason I couldn’t all the way enjoy it. Now im home alone hanging out with myself while chad and Sylvia are at a wedding and the kids are at the beach house. Im supposed to be getting over my jetlag. Its harder than I thought. I am trying to go to bed but im still wide awake. Probably the coffee I drank at 3 pm! Shouldn’t have, but it was a little cup and I felt like I needed the energy. Oh well everything is TOTALLY worth it. I need to start catching up on my Italian, I feel like it is lacking. I guess I never had it to begin with. Buona notte (good night).

No comments:

Post a Comment